Youth are protesting about climate. But are they into it? “Is youth for the climate?”

BY CLARA, MARGO, ELLA, LINDA, ANNE

Show notes to this podcast:

Climate clock: https://climateclock.world/

Numbers from other research:

Numbers of 16-35 years about their footprint.

61% says that they live climate-friendly. 38% thinks they are not calling themselves climate-friendly. Too afraid that they are worse than thought.

38% is not eating meat – the same is not thinking about the possibility of this in their daily life.

43% showers maximum 5 minutes. – 38% wants to stand longer under the shower.

59% is never buying secondhand clothes. 

61% is not thinking about streaming fewer movies because of saving electricity.

72% thinks climate change is a global problem. 62% is concerned. (1vandaag, AVOTROS.nl) 

SOURCE:

https://eenvandaag.avrotros.nl/item/jongeren-vinden-dat-ze-klimaatbewuster-kunnen-leven-maar-willen-ook-lang-douchen-en-veel-netflixen/

https://www.vrt.be/vrtnws/nl/2019/01/24/klimaatactie-wat-kan-je-zelf-doen/

Expert speaker: https://youtu.be/ifrHogDujXw

Netflix: Breaking Boundaries: The Science of Our Planet | Official Trailer | Netflix

Results from our research:

Do you or did you in a way protest for climate. Yes/No explain yourself. (some interesting answers)

  • No, I don’t understand that much about all the rules where there was protest about, but I tried to make some climate-safe swaps for myself and the climate
  • Nee, want ik ben me ervan bewust dat ik mijn eigen gedrag 1st moet veranderen, zolang ik dat niet doe, is het hypocriet om te protesteren (vind ik). (No because I’m aware that I need to change my own attitude first, as long as I don’t change, I think it’s hypocrite to protest)
  • I did not go to any protests, but I try to help the climate in any way I can. I try to make changes and inform my family of the climate, and this seems to help already.
  • Yes. In arguments, I always try to defend the point that there must be done more for the climate, but I didn’t go to Brussels or something like that
  • Ik spijbelde voor het klimaat, dit zorgde dat mijn school ook het klimaat onder de aandacht bracht (I skipped school for cimate, this made my school give more attention to climate)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started